On the Road Again

We are getting ready to head to Texas soon for my husband’s inspector class. We have been home for 2 months now and I am more than ready to get back on the road. Getting ready to go back on the road is a process. I have been organizing and cleaning the camper this week. I am so excited to head south for the winter but I feel guilty also. My sister is due in soon and I am not sure if I will be able to make it home in time for the birth of my niece. I am having her a baby shower before I go, but I know if I miss her birth I will never hear the end of it. My family always begs me to stay home. I have missed a few major events in my family and friends life, and they make me feel so guilty for it. It really bothers me a lot to have it thrown in my face.

I just wish they understood that my place is with my husband. That may be a bit old fashioned but it is the way my husband and I feel. I will always put my husband first, and he always puts me first. I take extreme joy in taking care of him. I like having the laundry done, the house cleaned, his lunch fixed and supper waiting when he gets home. I am so glad to have met fellow pipeline ladies who feel the same way and know exactly what I am going through. Social media has provided me a great way to meet other wives and vent. They understand this life more than my friends at home do. Most of the time I feel like I can’t really talk about this life with my friends. They think I just live one big vacation and that my husband makes tons of money for me to spend. They couldn’t be farther from the truth. They don’t understand the hardship that comes with this lifestyle.

Leave a Reply

