The Joys of the Holidays

Anybody who knows me, knows that I love the holidays. I go all out with my decorations, I love having my family over for dinners, I love everything about the holidays. I just get in the holiday spirit and I hate it when people act like well, Ebenezer Scrooge. Today we had our Christmas party with my husband’s family. After spending most of the day working on his little brother piece of crap jeep, the brother decided to throw a fit about picking up a present for his mother at his grandmother’s house. After they had been arguing for 20 minutes I volunteered to go get it. She literally lives a half mile from us, so it was no big deal. The brother then comes with me and complains the whole time about his job, his life, Christmas. We get to his grandmother’s house and discover that my mother-in-law has sent a car load of presents for the grandmother to wrap by tomorrow morning. This made me so mad, as she becomes short of breath easily due to health problems. So I stay and wrap the presents for her. The whole time we are wrapping the little brother constantly picks at his grandfather and the two end up arguing. Two hours and a headache later, I am finished wrapping presents and getting them loaded back into the grandmother’s vehicle. I came home and had a couple glasses of wine to sooth my irritation. My wonderful, sweet husband gave me an early gift to help makeup for the tension of the past two hours. He had found my favorite truffles in the mad house in town. He is absolutely the best thing that ever happened to me.  That is all that matters at the end of the day.

Leave a Reply

